30 September 2013 Arthur W. Page Society Inducts Nicholas Ashooh into Hall of Fame

BOSTON, MA—September 30, 2013—The Arthur W. Page Society has selected Nicholas Ashooh, senior director of corporate and executive communications at APCO Worldwide, as the recipient of the 2013 Hall of Fame Award. Ashooh previously served as vice president, corporate affairs at Alcoa, where he was responsible for global media relations, community relations, internal communications, marketing communications and corporate reputation.

The Hall of Fame Award is the Page Society's highest recognition, given in honor of lifetime achievement in a distinguished career of leadership in corporate communications and a strong commitment to the Page Principles.

During his 37-year career, Ashooh has served as the senior communications officer at five Fortune 500 companies across several sectors, including energy and utilities, insurance and financial services, metals and mining, entertainment, healthcare and corporate philanthropy. Before joining Alcoa, Ashooh was senior vice president of communications at American International Group, where he led all internal and external communications during the global financial crisis. Prior to AIG, he held executive communications positions at American Electric Power, Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. and Public Service of New Hampshire.

“Over the course of a rich career, Nick Ashooh's influence has been unmistakable, working closely with the CEO and across the C-Suite, and gently but firmly pushing the enterprise to do the right thing," said Jon Iwata, senior vice president, Marketing and Communications, IBM and chairman of the Arthur W. Page Society. “He achieves this with uncommon grace, intelligence and humor – a true leader in the mold of Arthur W. Page."

Ashooh was honored with the Hall of Fame Award on September 29 at the Arthur W. Page Society's 30th Annual Conference, held in Boston. For more information, please visit www.awpagesociety.com.

Previous Hall of Fame Award winners include:

  • 2012: Howard Paster, WPP (posthumous)
  • 2011: Margery Kraus, APCO
  • 2010: Beth Comstock, GE
  • 2009: Jon Iwata, IBM
  • 2008: David Drobis, Ketchum
  • 2007: Steven Harris, General Motors Corporation
  • 2006: Charlotte Otto, Procter & Gamble
  • 2005: James Murphy, Accenture
  • 2004: Al Golin, GolinHarris International
  • 2003: W.D. (Bill) Nielsen, Johnson & Johnson
  • 2002: Marilyn Laurie, Laurie Consulting, AT&T
  • 2001: Kurt Stocker, Northwestern University
  • 2000: John Graham, Fleishman-Hillard
  • 1999: Richard Mau, Rockwell International Company
  • 1998: Grant Horne, Pacific Gas & Electric
  • 1997: Daniel Edelman, Edelman Public Relations Worldwide
  • 1996: Ron Rhody, Bank of America
  • 1995: Jack Koten, Ameritech
  • 1994: Larry Foster, Johnson & Johnson
  • 1993: Edward Block, AT&T
  • 1992: Chester Burger, Chester Burger Company
  • 1991: Harold Burson, Burson-Marsteller
  • 1990: Tim Traverse-Healy, Traverse Healy Ltd.
  • 1989: Dr. W. Howard Chase, American Can Company
  • 1987: Scott Cutlip, University of Georgia
  • 1986: Allen Center, Motorola
  • 1985: John Page, Inco Alloy Products
About the Hall of Fame Award

The Hall of Fame Award is the Arthur W. Page Society's highest honor, recognizing men and women whose esteemed careers have taken them to the summit of the communications field. This award honors a leading senior level practitioner for lifetime achievement in a distinguished career of leadership in corporate communications and public relations. Recipients' accomplishments include having significant positive influence on the enterprise on communications and business issues, major contributions to the profession, strong commitment to the Page Principles and careers filled with recognition by their peers. The Page Society congratulates this year's inductee into the Hall of Fame.

About the Arthur W. Page Society

The Arthur W. Page Society is a professional association for senior public relations and corporate communications executives who seek to enrich and strengthen their profession. Membership consists primarily of chief communications officers of Fortune 500 corporations, the CEOs of the world's largest public relations agencies and leading academics from the nation's top business and communications schools. The Page Society is dedicated to strengthening the management policy role of chief public relations officers. For more information please visit www.awpagesociety.com.


For more information contact:

Dan Strouhal
212-400-7959 x102 dstrouhal@awpagesociety.com