22 September 2014 John Onoda Receives Distinguished Service Award from Arthur W. Page Society

PHILADELPHIA, PA— September 22, 2014 — John Onoda, a 30-year veteran of corporate communications who has represented a diverse array of clients in various business sectors, has been selected as the 2014 recipient of the Arthur W. Page Society's Distinguished Service Award. Onoda is currently a Senior Consultant with FleishmanHillard, a global public relations and marketing firm.

The Distinguished Service Award was created to honor an individual who has helped strengthen the role of public relations in business and society. Onoda—a member of FleishmanHillard's International Advisory Board—is a highly regarded public relations consultant who has helped to shape and protect the corporate brand of some of the world's most visible corporations.

Over the course of his career, Onoda held positions leading corporate communications efforts for General Motors, Charles Schwab, Visa USA and Levi Strauss. Earlier in his career, he directed global media relations for McDonalds, Holiday Inn and Harrah's Casinos. Onoda has served on the boards of Business for Social Responsibility, the Arthur W. Page Society, and the Public Relations Society of America Foundation.

“John Onoda has made major contributions to the public relations profession, through his respected work as well as his generous mentorship and profound thought leadership," said Gary Sheffer, vice president of corporate communications and public affairs at General Electric and chairman of the Arthur W. Page Society. “His enduring commitment to strengthening the role of public relations – not only in our companies, but in society at large – has cemented his legacy of service to our profession. We are proud and privileged to recognize John with our Distinguished Service award."

Onoda was presented with the Distinguished Service Award on September 21st at the 31st Annual Conference of the Page Society, held in Philadelphia.

Previous Distinguished Service Award winners include:

  • 2013: Maril MacDonald, Gagen MacDonald
  • 2012: Kim Hunter, Lagrant Communications
  • 2011: Tom Martin, College of Charleston
  • 2010: Peter Debreceney, Gagen MacDonald
  • 2009: E. Bruce Harrison, EnviroComm International
  • 2008: James E. Grunig, University of Maryland
  • 2007: Donald K. Wright, Boston University
  • 2006: Ron Culp, Ketchum
  • 2004: John M. Reed, Consultants in Public Relations SA
  • 2003: Ann H. Barkelew, FleishmanHillard
  • 2002: John W. (Jack) Felton, Institute for Public Relations
  • 2001: Patrick J. Jackson; Jackson, Jackson & Wagner
  • 2000: Betsy Plank, Betsy Plank Public Relations

Copies of remarks delivered by the award winners will be available on the Page Society Web site within the Insights and Research section, here.

About the Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was created to honor an individual who has helped strengthen the role of public relations in business and society. Successful candidates have improved the overall value and effectiveness of the profession through service, writing, research, speaking or teaching. The recipients of this award have devoted themselves to services that help build and nurture the profession, advance the understanding, practice or teaching of public relations and corporate communications and strengthen the role of public relations in our society.

About the Arthur W. Page Society

The Arthur W. Page Society is a professional association for senior public relations and corporate communications executives who seek to enrich and strengthen their profession. Membership consists primarily of chief communications officers of Fortune 500 corporations, the CEOs of the world's largest public relations agencies and leading academics from the nation's top business and communications schools. The Page Society is dedicated to strengthening the management policy role of chief public relations officers. For more information please visit www.awpagesociety.com.

# # #